Hi! Please support us by deactivating your AdBlocker extension..

BREAKING: INEC Declares APC Candidate Oyebanji Winner Of Ekiti Governorship Election 

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC),  Biodun Oyebanji, the winner of the Ekiti State governorship election.

The Returning Officer for the election, Prof Kayode Adebowale, and the Vice Chancellor, the University of Ibadan, who announced the results said, “Oyebanji, having scored the highest number of votes is declared the winner and returned elected as the governor-elect of Ekiti State”

Oyebanji secured 187,057 votes, defeating his two closest challengers — Segun Oni of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) who polled 82,211 votes, and Bisi Kolawole of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who got 67,457 votes and 13 other parties which participated in Saturday’s governorship election.

Out of the 360,753 votes cast, the total valid votes in the election were 351,865.

While the agent of SDP, Owoseeni Ajayi, did not sign the forms for the votes cast, the agent of the ADP, said, “Instead of having polling centres, what we have in Ekiti are vote-buying centres”

.In addition to his total votes, the APC candidate won in 15 of the 16 local government areas. The exception was Efon which was won by Kolawole who hails from the LGA.

Each of the three leading candidates won his ward handsomely with Oyebanji recording 296 votes in his Polling Unit 003 ,Ward 6 in Ikogosi. Kolawole had only one vote there while three votes were voided. Kolawole also won in his Efon LGA.

Oni got 218 or 90 per cent of the total votes cast in his  Polling Unit 6,Ward 4 at Ogbon Iro in Ifaki, leaving only 15 for Oyebanji  and two for Kolawole.

Kolawole also secured his Ward 8, Unit 1, Efon Alaye, in Efon Local Government Area, garnering 98 votes, while Oyebanji got  13 votes and Oni two votes.

Governor Fayemi delivered his Polling Unit at Ogilolo Ward in Isan-Ekiti, Oye LGA to the APC candidate with 154 votes to  SDP’s 4 and PDP’s 3.

Deputy Governor Bisi Egbeyemi also won his ward in Ado Ekiti for the APC with 109 votes to SDP’s 86 and PDP’s 14.

The APC deputy governorship candidate, Mrs. Mojisola Afuye fared well in her  Atiba Aafin Ward in Ikere Ekiti, delivering 165 votes .

But it was a disappointing day for the senator representing Ekiti South, Mrs. Biodun Olujimi. Her party polled 110 votes while APC got 141 and SDP 46

Oyebanji,  until recently was  Secretary to the State Government (SSG). He had, in his manifesto, said his focus areas will include youth development, job creation, MSME finance support, and sports development.

“Our proposed strategic pillars of action are all interlinked. We are ensuring that there is sufficient investment, and attention given to the specific areas we believe have the potential to create opportunities, improve well-being and deliver sustainable growth for everyone; from our elderly, to our youth, to our women, our workers at state and local government levels, our small and micro business owners, our investors, our teachers and our lecturers; and of course, our children,” he had said.

“Let me remind you that there is no magic wand to build our state, and that the sustainable progress we want will not happen overnight.

“We have been on a long journey to reclaim our land and restore our values. It is now time to hunker down and sustain all our gains.

“That is why it is important that we encourage policies that keep the state working in partnership with our people.”

Manuels Effe


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *