Hi! Please support us by deactivating your AdBlocker extension..

Buhari Reshuffles Cabinet As New Ministers Take Oath Of Office 

President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday administered an oath of office to seven newly appointed ministers recently confirmed by the Senate.

The new ministers took the oath of office shortly before the commencement of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) Meeting at the Council Chamber of the Presidential Villa.

Those sworn in are Henry Ikoh (Abia), Umana Okon Umana (Akwa-Ibom), Udi Odum (Rivers), Ademola Adegoroye (Ondo), Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub (Kano), Goodluck Nana Opiah (Imo) and Ekumankama Nkama (Ebonyi).

The new ministers replace those who resigned their appointments to contest for various elective offices during the 2023 general elections in April.

Following the swearing in, President Buhari did a minor re-jig of his cabinet by moving some from their present portfolio to others. 

The new assignments showed that Umana becomes the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs; Gbemisola Saraki moved from Transportation to Minister for State Mines and Steel; Olorunimbe Mammora moved from Health to Minister of State, Science and Technology, and Sharon Ikeazor moved from Environment to Minister of State Niger Delta Affairs.

The other portfolio announced are Muazu Jaji Sambo, Minister of Transportation; Umar Ibrahim El Yakub- Minister of State Works and Housing; Goodluck Nanah Opiah, Minister of State Education; Ekumankama Joseph Nkama, Minister of State Heath; Ikoh Henry Ikechukwu, Minister of State, Science and Technology; Odum Udi- Minister of State, Environment, and Ademola Adewole Adegoroye- Minister of State, Transportation.

While performing the ceremony, the president urged the new ministerial appointees to consider their emergence as a call to duty which demands diligent service to the nation.

Before the swearing-in, a minute’s silence was observed in honour of Mohammed Barkindo, the 4th Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) Secretary-General, who died at the age of 63 on Tuesday.

Meanwhile, in attendance physically at FEC are Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha; and Chief of Staff to the President, Prof Ibrahim Gambari.

The ministers include the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami, Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige, Education, Adamu Adamu, Communication and Digital Economy, Isa Pantami, Mines and Steel, Olamilekan Adegbite, Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva, and Minister of State Budget, National Planning, Clem Agba and State, Industry Trade and Investment, Maryam Katagun.

Head of the Service of the Federation (HOCSF), Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan, and other ministers are attending the meeting from their off

Manuels Effe


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *