Hi! Please support us by deactivating your AdBlocker extension..

Kano Assembly Dissolves 5 Emirates Created By Ganduje, Paves Way For Sanusi’s Return

The Kano State House of Assembly on Thursday, at last, passed the Kano Emirates Council Law (Repeal Bill) 2024, effectively abolishing the establishment of five new emirates created by the former Kano state Dr Abdullahi Umar Ganduje.

All offices created under the repealed law have been dissolved by the new bill, and all district heads promoted or appointed under the repealed law are required to return to their previous positions.

This legislative change marks a significant shift in the traditional governance structure of Kano State, reverting to the previous singular emirate system.

With the development, the deposed Emir of Kano, Malam Sanusi Lamido, may be on his way back to the seat, as Emir of Kano, to oversee all the 44 local government areas of the state

Sponsored by Lawan Hussaini Chediyar Yan Gurasa, the Majority Leader representing the Dala Constituency, the Kano State Emirates Council (Amendment number 2) Law, 2024, marks a significant legislative change.

Initially assented to by former Governor Abdullahi Umar Ganduje on December 5, 2019, subsequent amendments were made on October 14, 2020, and April 11, 2023.

Section 3(1) of the law had established five distinct emirates: Kano, Bichi, Rano, Gaya, and Karaye, each with its own jurisdiction over several local government areas. However, following the deposition of Emir Muhammadu Sanusi on March 9, 2020, amendments were made to the law, designating the chairman of the council as the emir of the Kano Emirate.

Section 12 empowers the governor to classify the office of an emir as first, second, or third class, pending approval from the House of Assembly.

A principal officer of the assembly, speaking anonymously, expressed the assembly’s determination to amend the law despite any obstacles.

Meanwhile, Speaking shortly after Thursday’s session,Gurasa said, “the bill has been sent to the governor for assent, now there is no longer an active Emir in Kano in all the five Emirates; Kano, Bichi, Gaya, Rano and Karaye. The law now provides the governor to call on the traditional kingmakers to choose a new king.”



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *