Hi! Please support us by deactivating your AdBlocker extension..

Tinubu To Attend G20 Summit In India

President Bola Tinubu will attend the G20 summit scheduled for 9th and 10th September in New Delhi, India, his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Ajuri Ngelale said on Friday.

President Tinubu will join US President Joe Biden, UK PM Rishi Sunak, Canadian PM Justin Trudeau, Japanese PM Fumio Kishida,  Saudi Arabian King Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud,  and other delegates from the various member countries, as well as G20 invitees, at the two-day Summit.

As part of its preparations for the Summit, the Delhi government has ordered all government offices and educational bodies situated in the city to remain closed. 

Security has also been ramped up in the city, and major traffic restrictions are in place.

The G20 or the Group of Twenty comprises 19 countries (Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom, and the United States) and the European Union.

It was formed in 1999 in the backdrop of the financial crisis of the late 1990s that hit East Asia and Southeast Asia in particular and aims to secure global financial stability by involving middle-income countries.

G20 members represent around 85 per cent of the global GDP, over 75 per cent of global trade, and about two-thirds of the world population.

As a forum for international economic cooperation, it plays an important role in shaping and strengthening global architecture and governance on all major international economic issues.

The G20 Presidency rotates annually among the members.  The Presidency is responsible for bringing together the G20 agenda, organising its workings and hosting summits. India holds the Presidency from December 1, 2022, to November 30, 2023.

After India, Brazil will take over the G20 presidency in 2024, followed by South Africa in 2025



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *